News & Events

News and Events Logo

All News & Events

2014 ResMed COMP1917 Prize

Aug 28, 2014

Congratulations to the following students on winning the 2014 ResMed COMP1917 Prize. 1st: James Houlahan ($500) 2nd: Liam Hayes ($300) =3rd: Glen Carmichael and Adley Phu ($100 each) The prize will be presented at the CSE Prizes Reception next year. Thank you to ResMed for sponsoring this prize. ... Read more


Aug 21, 2014

On Tuesday 29 July, NICTA and General Dynamics C4 Systems jointly released the secure embedded L4 (seL4) microkernel and formal mathematical proofs as open-source software. ... Read more

NICTA Teachfest 2014

Aug 21, 2014

NICTA’s annual Techfest will be held at the The Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre next week (August 29). The event showcase NICTA research and technology developments including joint projects with university partners. Registrations via: Read more

Defcon CTF 2014

Aug 21, 2014

A group of CSE students competed in the annual Defcon Capture the Flag Competition and placed 6th. Defcon CTF is the premier international cyber security competition. Read more

Foodbank Local

Aug 5, 2014

Foodbank Local, a team of mostly CSE students and currently resident in CSE’s Venture Space, was invited to present at the Microsoft Global Experiences Conference (MGX) in Atlanta on 25 July. ... Read more

RoboCup World Champions 2014

Aug 5, 2014

Congratulations to rUNSWift who beat Germany 5-1 to become the 2014 World Champions of RoboCup. Read more


Aug 5, 2014

CSE HoS Maurice Pagnucco was elected Deputy President of ACDICT. Read more

SECUInside 2014

Jul 24, 2014

Congratulations to the CSE team that placed 6th in the international cyber security competition SECUInside in Seoul, South Korea. They were one challenge behind the winning team finishing with a score around 1000, while the winning score was 1300. Read more

COMP4431 Game Design Showcase Friday June 6
COMP4431 Game Design Showcase Friday June 6

May 27, 2014

Next Friday (June 6) the Game Design Workshop class (COMP4431) will be hosting a showcase of the games they have developed this session. The event will be held at 6-8pm in the K17 Level 1 meeting room. ... Read more

PhD student Eisa Zarepour won the NASSCOM 2014 Innovation Award

May 1, 2014

PhD student Eisa Zarepour won the NASSCOM 2014 Innovation Award, which will be presented at the CeBIT Dinner on the 6th of May. Along with a trophy and certificate, Eisa wins a all-expenses-paid trip to India for a 7-days work experience. Congratulations, Eisa! Well done. Read more

Google CS4HS Award

Feb 11, 2014

CSE has been awarded $10K from Google as part of its Computer Science for High School (CS4HS) initiative. ... Read more

Professor Toby Walsh has been awarded a prestigious Humboldt Prize

Feb 11, 2014

Professor Toby Walsh CSE/NICTA has been awarded a prestigious Humboldt Prize ( Read more

Jay Hannon

Feb 11, 2014

CSE welcomes Jay Hannon as its Director of External Relations. Jay has had a long association with the University, particularly in his previous role with IBM. Read more

Ahead on start-ups
Ahead on start-ups

Nov 27, 2013

UNSW leads Australian universities in the number of graduates who have founded technology start-ups in the last 15 years, a new US-based analysis reveals. ... Read more

Innovator wins national teaching award
Innovator wins national teaching award

Aug 15, 2013

Computing lecturer and avid proponent of open education Richard Buckland has been recognised with a national award for teaching excellence. ... Read more