ARAA logo

ARAA graphic

ACRA 2005, Sydney, 5-7 December (Mon-Wed)

Programme and Proceedings

The programme and proceedings for ACRA 2005 are now available online.


Registrations are due Friday 25 Nov. Click here for the registration form (PDF).
  • Full registration: $400 (inc GST)
  • Student registration: $300 (inc GST)
  • One day registration: $150 (inc GST) (excludes conference dinner)


Attendees must make their own arrangements for accommodation. Some suggestions for near-by accommdation are:


The conference will be held at UNSW's Kensington campus. All sessions will be in the Rupert Myers lecture theatre. This is at location M15 on the map of the campus. Parking (for a fee) is available in the parking station behind the Rupert Myers building.

Scope of Conference

The 2005 Australasian Conference on Robotics and Automation will be held on 5-7 December 2005 in Sydney, at the University of New South Wales. ACRA is an inclusive venue for the discussion and promulgation of issues in robotics and automation that are relevant to research and application in Australia and New Zealand.
Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

Robots in Action
  o Health Care
  o Environmental Robotics
  o Biorobotics
  o Safeguarding Australasia
  o Industry Applications
  o Manufacturing
  o Food Processing & Handling
  o Argicultural Automation
  o Mining and Construction Automation
  o Production Line Automation
  o Field Robots
  o Underwater Robots
  o Aerial Robots
  o Service Robots
  o Robot Contests
Sensors and Actuators
  o Intelligent Sensors and Actuators
  o Machine Vision
  o 3D Sensing
  o Novel Mechanisms
  o Hydraulic Modelling and Control

Algorithms and Software
  o Control Systems and Methods
  o Navigation Systems
  o Robot Programming
  o Artificial Intelligence
  o Machine Learning
  o Software Safety
Robots and Humans
  o Human Machine Interfaces
  o Safety
  o Robots in Education
  o Social and Economic Impact of Robots

ACRA 2005 will be a single tracked conference (no parallel sessions or posters).

General Chair

Claude Sammut
ARC Centre of Excellence for Autonomous Systems
School of Computer Science and Engineering
University of New South Wales
phone (02) 9385-6932
fax (02) 9385-5995

Programme Committee

David Austin
Australian National University
Nick Barnes
National ICT Austalia
Glen Bright
Massey University
Peter Cheeseman
National ICT Austalia
Gamini Dissanayake
University Technology, Sydney
Reg Dunlop
University of Canterbury
Werner Friedrich
Industrial Research, Ltd
Ray Jarvis
Monash University
Bernhard Hengst
National ICT Austalia
Margaret Jeffries
University of Waikato
Waleed Kadous
University of New South Wales
Bruce MacDonald
University of Auckland
Robert Mahony
Australian National University
Phillip McKerrow
University of Wollongong
Maurice Pagnucco
University of New South Wales
Jonathan Roberts
Salah Sukkarieh
University of Sydney
David Stirling
University of Wollongong
Jaime Valls Miro
University Technology, Sydney
Stefan Williams
University of Sydney
Gordon Wyeth
University of Queensland

Annual General Meeting

The 2005 AGM will be held at 12noon on Wednesday, 7 December during the conference.