Screen Version
School of Computer Science & Engineering
University of New South Wales

 Advanced Operating Systems 
 COMP9242 2013/S2 

The Arista Advanced Operating Systems Prize

This prize, valued A$2000, is donated Arista Networks. to the best student(s) in COMP9242 Advanced Operating Systems.

The winners so far are:

Year Winner
2021 James Archer
2020 James Nugraha
2019 Matthew Phillips
2018 Michael Manansala
2017 Orion Larden
2016 Donny Yang
2015 Karl Krauth
2014 Genevieve Carter and Will Andrew (joint winners)
2013 Evgeny Martynov
2012 Chris Webb
2011 Matt Fernandez
2010 Anna Lyons
2009 Rupert Shuttleworth
2008 Prashant Varanasi
2007 Josh Matthews
2006 Clarence Dang
2005 David Greenaway
2004 Geoff Lee
2003 Philip Derrin
2002 Andrew Baumann
2001 Matthew Chapman
2000 Anthony Edwards
1999 John Dagliesh
1998 Luke Deller and Emmanuel Galanos (joint winners)

From 2017 to 2019 the prize was kown as the Metamako Advanced Operating Systems Prize and was sponsored by Metamako, a startup founded by Dave Snowdown, an alumnus of the course. In September 2018, Metamako was acquired by Arista Networks, which continued to sponsor the prize.

From 2011 to 2016 the prize was known as the Alumni Advanced Operating Systems Prize and was donated by former students of the class, plus the lecturers Gernot Heiser and Kevin Elphinstone.

From 2005 until 2010, the prize was sponsored by IBM Advanced Development Labs Canberra (better known as OzLabs) and was known as the IBM (OzLabs) Operating Systems Prize.

Until 2005, the prize was known as the Aurema Operating Systems Prize, donated by Sydney company Aurema Pty Ltd, now part of Citrix.

See also Gernot's Operating Systems Hall of Fame.