Knowledge Representation Ontology Workshop (KROW 2008): September 17, 2008

Registration for KR 2008 includes participation in KROW 2008

KR 2008 registration is open

The KROW Program is available as part of the
KR Program, or can be downloaded here

Sponsored by


KROW 2008 is one of two workshops forming an integral part of the KR 2008 program. It is a continuation of the Australasian Ontology Workshop series. The primary aim of the workshop is to bring together active researchers in the broad area of ontologies. We invite submissions on all aspects of ontologies. Possible topics include:
  • Ontology models and theories
  • The Semantic Web
  • Interoperability in ontologies
  • Multi-agent systems
  • Description logics for ontologies
  • Reasoning with ontologies
  • Ontology harvesting on the web
  • Ontology of agents and actions
  • Ontology visualisation
  • Ontology engineering and management
  • Information extraction and retrieval
  • Ontology merging, alignment and integration
  • Web ontology languages
  • Formal concept analysis and ontologies

The proceedings of the three workshops in the AOW series were published as volumes 58, 72, and 85 of the Conferences in Research and Practice in Information Technology (CRPIT) series, and the KROW 2008 proceedings will be published as 90 in the same series. Extended versions of selected papers will appear in a special issue of the journal Applied Artificial Intelligence.

Submission Information

Submission is via EasyChair at:
Papers should conform to the CRPIT submission format (double column) which can be found on the CRPIT website at:, and should be at most 10 pages.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: Deadline extended to June 8, 2008
  • Notification of acceptance: July 1, 2008
  • Camera-ready copies due: July 15, 2008
  • Early registration deadline: July 31, 2008
  • KROW 2008: September 17, 2008
  • Workshop Chairs
    Thomas Meyer (Meraka Institute, South Africa)
    Mehmet Orgun (Macquarie University, Australia)

    Program Committee
    Franz Baader (TU Dresden, Germany)
    Mike Bain (UNSW, Australia)
    Richard Booth (Mahasarakham University, Thailand)
    Arina Britz (Meraka Institute, South Africa)
    Longbing Cao (UTS, Australia)
    Werner Ceusters (SUNY Buffalo, USA)
    Anne Cregan (UNSW, Australia)
    Attila Elci (Eastern Mediterranean University, Turkey)
    Aurona Gerber (Meraka Institute, South Africa)
    Manolis Gergatsoulis (Ionian University, Greece)
    Dennis Hooijmaijers (University of South Australia, Australia)
    Bo Hu (University of Southampton, UK)
    Renato Iannella (NICTA, Australia)
    Marijke Keet (Free University of Bolzano, Italy)
    Ken Kaneiwa (NICT, Japan)
    Kevin Lee (NICTA and UNSW, Australia)
    Laurent Lefort (CSIRO, Australia)
    Costas Mantratzis (University of Westminster, UK)
    Lars Moench (University of Hagen, Germany)
    Deshendran Moodley (University of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa)
    Maurice Pagnucco (UNSW, Australia)
    Anet Potgieter (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
    Debbie Richards (Macquarie University, Australia)
    Rolf Schwitter (Macquarie University, Australia)
    Murat Sensoy (Bogazici University, Turkey)
    Barry Smith (SUNY Buffalo, USA)
    Boontawee Suntisrivaraporn (TU Dresden, Germany)
    Kerry Taylor (CSIRO, Australia)
    Sergio Tessaris (Free University of Bolzano, Italy)
    Kewen Wang (Griffith University, Australiua)
    Mary-Anne Williams (UTS, Australia)
    Pinar Yolum (Bogazici University, Turkey)