About Us

CSE Student Office

The School of Computer Science and Engineering

We are part of the Faculty of Engineering at UNSW and were founded in 1991 out of the former Department of Computer Science within the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. We are now one of the largest Schools of our kind in Australia. The academic staff have research focus in areas such as Artificial Intelligence, Databases, Embedded and Operating Systems, Networks, Programming Languages, Service Oriented Computing, Software Engineering, Theory, and CSE is a partner in the National ICT Australia group (NICTA).

The Faculty of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering is the largest in Australia and comprises of nine Schools, viz. the Schools of Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Mining Engineering and Petroleum Engineering, and Photovoltaics and Renewable Energy Engineering.

Visit the Faculty of Engineering webiste

UNSW Australia

UNSW Australia was established in 1949. At the main campus in Kensington, six kilometres south east of the centre of Sydney, there are the Faculties of Arts and Social Sciences, Built Environment, Australian School of Business, Engineering, Law, Science, and Medicine together with the Australian Graduate School of Management. The College of Fine Arts of UNSW Australia is located in the inner Sydney suburb of Paddington. A University College of UNSW Australia, located within the Australian Defence Force Academy in Canberra, provides tertiary education for officer cadets and officers of the three services of the Australian Defence Force and postgraduate education and research for military personnel and civilians.

Visit the UNSW website